Thursday, September 10, 2009

Where is Gay Marriage Legal in the United States

Question: Where is Gay Marriage Legal in the United States?

Where can gays and lesbians get legally married in the US?


In the United States gays and lesbians can legally marry in Massachusetts, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont and New Hampshire (beginning Jan. 1, 2010). In May 2009, the Maine legislature passed a bill legalizing same-sex marriage. But opponents have collected enough signatures to put the issue up to the voters in November 2009.
New York recognizes marriages by same-sex couples legally performed elsewhere.
California recognized marriage by same-sex couples between June and November of 2008, before voters approved Proposition 8, which amended the state constitution to prohibit gay marriage.

No comments: